Monday, November 30, 2015

Giving Tuesday!

Dear Alumni, Friends and Supporters
Tuesday, December 1, 2015 is Giving Tuesday. Howard University participates in Giving Tuesday and encourages your support.

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Newsworthy: SOC Students and Alumni

Cover Story
SOC alumna Maya Rhodan was part of a team of reporters at Time magazine to capture an important story. She spent two months in Charleston, South Carolina to interview the families and survivors of the Mother Emanuel AME Church massacre. The story they published tells an intimate story of forgiveness and healing. View at:

Howard University News Service
Photo by Cheriss May, Howard University News Service
The award-winning Howard University News Service is off and running this year under professor and advisor, Ron Harris. Students are covering an array of stories across the Washington metropolitan area. An example of the excellent coverage is a story by
Savannah Harris, on an inaugural event Nov. 16th at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture to celebrate the completion of the museum’s exterior. The museum is scheduled to open in 2016.
View the students’ work at Howard News Service:

Under Armour Marketing Genius
Adrienne Lofton, SOC alumna, is the marketing genius behind Under Armour. Bison Pride for Adrienne.   (photo available)

Indira Somani, Howard faculty, Terri Tolliver, Executive Producer, Fox 5 News
Aaron Gilchrist, NBC 4 Morning Anchor
Michelle Hord-White, Vice President, Talent Acquisition and Pipeline Programs
Kia Baskerville, CBS News Special Projects Producer
Jennifer Thomas, Howard faculty, former Executive Producer of CNN
Career Fair 2015The School of Communications Job & Internship Fair 2015 struck a powerful cord for students. Kudos to Carol Dudley, Director of Career Services, and the entire SOC faculty, staff and students who helped make this year’s fair another success. 

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

SOC: Rhodes Scholar Finalist

SOC senior Stacey Roheman, Legal Communications, is a 2016 Rhodes Scholar Finalist. Congratulations to Stacey.

Monday, October 26, 2015

SOC Spotlight

SOC alum tops list

Alumna Shani Hilton, executive editor of BuzzFeed News, in the spotlight in Marie Claire magazine’s "The New Guard: The 50 Most Influential Women in America." Shani is dubbed the content queen for her work at BuzzFeed; the online news operation has 100 reporters in eight countries. Congratulations Shani!

Friday, October 16, 2015

SOC Students Connect

SOC Assists Winfrey's Belief Series
School of C students in Professor Unnia Pettus'  Basic PR Writing course will hone social media and news reporting skills covering two upcoming Oprah Winfrey events to launch her OWN Belief series. 

The first event is 5-9 p.m. Sunday, October 18th at The Worsley Mansion, 1410 Missouri Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 

The second event is 5-9 p.m. Wednesday, October 21st at The Sylvan Theatre located behind The Monument on The National Mall. 

The  Howard University's Gospel Choir will be featured entertainment for the National Mall event

Both events: free and open to the public.

Pettus, a SOC alumna, is co-chair and co-PR director for Winfrey's DC "Belief" Host Committee.

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Alumni At Work

Emmy Winner

Alumna Michelle Miller, Northeast Bureau Correspondent,CBS New York, recently won an Emmy for her correspondent role in an outstanding feature story in a scheduled newscast.


Picture Perfect
"United We Rise - A Film About Change."
School of C alumni Akinbola Richardson, director and writer, and Jeredon O'conner, cinematographer, have a new film, United We Rise - A Film About Change.


Forbes Interview
Alum Jabari Johnson recently appeared in Forbes Magazine. In "Get Paid To Be Yourself: The Business of Being Jabari Johnson," Jabari's story of entrepreneurship unfolds. Read the article at:

Monday, October 5, 2015


School of C Dr. Tia Tyree's class on October 6th,
Introduction to Strategic Communication

News Engagement Day -- Tuesday, October 6, 2015
A program of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)

School of C faculty and students will participate in this national/international effort that focuses on engaging news.

For more information on News Engagement Day, please