Sunday, February 18, 2018



HU Debate Team National Champions     

The Howard University Debate Team
 are the 2018 National HBCU Speech and Debate Parliamentary Debate Champions!
The team recently participated in the inaugural 2018 National HBCU Speech and Debate Championship at Wiley College in late January. The competition was hosted by Chris Medina, director of Forensics for The Great Debaters at Wiley College. Under the leadership of associate professor Angela Minor, director of Forensics, the team made a lasting impression during the competition.
In the National Parliamentary Debate Association (NPDA) Division, Howard Debate advanced three, two-member teams. Howard advanced the most teams at the Quarter-Finalists level for Parliamentary Debate than any HBCU in attendance.  Additionally, actor Nate Parker, from the movie The Great Debaters, sent his non-profit, The Nate Parker Foundation, Inc., to record the student competitors and coaches for a “Great Debate Documentary,” which will air soon. Denzel Washington (who played Melvin Tolson in the movie) attended the Awards Banquet.

The students who competed at Wiley College are as follows:
Cathy Hughes School of Communications:
Aerial Adams - Legal Communications major, Class of 2020
Tommy Crockett - Communications (Film/Television) major, Class of 2019
Michael Franklin - Legal Communications major, Class of 2021
Angelina Peters -  Legal Communications major, Class 2019
Nancy Vu – Journalism major, Class of 2021
Lundyn Davis - Sociology Pre-Med and Biology/Spanish major, Class of 2019
Colin Evans - Economics major, Class of 2020
Kristen Love - Economics and Political Science major, Class of 2018
Alexia Singletary, Political Science and Afro American Studies major, Class of 2020
The Debate Team received awards in the following categories:
NPDA National Champions 1st Place: Aerial Adams and Michael Franklin
NPDA Quarter-Finalists: Lundyn Davis and Kristen Love & Tommy Crockett and Colin Evans
National Parliamentary Debate Best Speaker - 1st Place: Colin Evans
National Parliamentary Debate Best Speaker - 3rd Place: Lundyn Davis
Informative Speaker - 5th Place: Kristen Love
Extemporaneous Speaking - 1st Place: Michael Franklin
Extemporaneous Speaking - 3rd Place: Kristen Love
Interviewing - 3rd Place: Angelina Peters (84 students entered this category)
Interviewing - 6th Place: Lundyn Davis (84 students entered this category)
Sweepstakes Award - Kristen Love (This award means she was the Top Performer and the Finalist in most of the events entered on behalf of Howard University!)