Friday, November 30, 2018

SAVE THE DATE:  2.28.2019                                     Communications Job & Internship Fair 

Handshake exhibitors registration opens Dec. 1, 2018. Students register on Handshake Jan. 14. 2019. Please contact

Friday, October 19, 2018

CHSOC Homecoming 2018 

 Cathy Hughes School of Communications

noon-1 p.m., Departments, CB Powell Bldg.

1:30- 4 p.m., Screening Room West (SCRW)
Contemporary Topics Panels featuring CHSOC Alumni & Faculty Panelists

4:30-7 p.m., Friday, Oct. 26th

Lobby & Lawn Tent, CB Powell Bldg.
525 Bryant St., NW, Washington, DC 20059

President Wayne A. I. Frederick

Cathy Hughes, Founder and Chairperson Urban One

Mayor Muriel Bowser
Presenting “Key to the City” to Cathy Hughes

Entrepreneurs Table
Book Authors Table
Recent Alumni Table
Networking to Transition Careers Table


Howard Homecoming 2018: Euphoria
October 20 - 28, 2018
Schedule of Events

Friday, April 13, 2018

CHSOC Happenings!

Picture This

MFA Film Program graduate student Chuckwunonso Dureke, recently won the $30,000 Grand Prize at the 2018 Annapolis Film Festival short film pitch competition. Dureke plans to use the prize to develop her script and work on her master's thesis production. Graduate film student Tracey Davis also placed among six finalists at the festival. To learn more about Dureke, click: Dureke interview


ADWEEK Cover Story

Alumna Constance Frazier, COO of the American Advertising Federation, sits among a league of her own. She is featured on the cover of ADWEEK as part of an article on African American women pioneers in advertising. In 2016, Frazier received an Alumni Legacy Award at the CHSOC's 45th Anniversary Soiree.


Alumni named Deans at UPenn &                     Elon University
Dr. John Jackson

CHSOC alumni named to academic leadership roles across the country. Alumnus Dr. John Jackson was recently named Dean of  the University of Pennsylvania Annenberg School for Communication. Dr. Jackson will start his new position January 1, 2019. He is currently Dean in the School of Social Policy & Practice and the Richard Perry University Professor. 
See the UPenn release: Jackson UPenn Dean  
Dr. Rochelle Ford

Alumna Dr. Rochelle Ford has been named Dean of the School of Communications at Elon University. Dr. Ford will start her position on June 30, 2018.  She is currently chair and professor of the Public Relations Department in the SI Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University. She is a former faculty member and associate dean in CHSOC. See Elon's release: Ford named Elon Dean

Sunday, February 18, 2018



HU Debate Team National Champions     

The Howard University Debate Team
 are the 2018 National HBCU Speech and Debate Parliamentary Debate Champions!
The team recently participated in the inaugural 2018 National HBCU Speech and Debate Championship at Wiley College in late January. The competition was hosted by Chris Medina, director of Forensics for The Great Debaters at Wiley College. Under the leadership of associate professor Angela Minor, director of Forensics, the team made a lasting impression during the competition.
In the National Parliamentary Debate Association (NPDA) Division, Howard Debate advanced three, two-member teams. Howard advanced the most teams at the Quarter-Finalists level for Parliamentary Debate than any HBCU in attendance.  Additionally, actor Nate Parker, from the movie The Great Debaters, sent his non-profit, The Nate Parker Foundation, Inc., to record the student competitors and coaches for a “Great Debate Documentary,” which will air soon. Denzel Washington (who played Melvin Tolson in the movie) attended the Awards Banquet.

The students who competed at Wiley College are as follows:
Cathy Hughes School of Communications:
Aerial Adams - Legal Communications major, Class of 2020
Tommy Crockett - Communications (Film/Television) major, Class of 2019
Michael Franklin - Legal Communications major, Class of 2021
Angelina Peters -  Legal Communications major, Class 2019
Nancy Vu – Journalism major, Class of 2021
Lundyn Davis - Sociology Pre-Med and Biology/Spanish major, Class of 2019
Colin Evans - Economics major, Class of 2020
Kristen Love - Economics and Political Science major, Class of 2018
Alexia Singletary, Political Science and Afro American Studies major, Class of 2020
The Debate Team received awards in the following categories:
NPDA National Champions 1st Place: Aerial Adams and Michael Franklin
NPDA Quarter-Finalists: Lundyn Davis and Kristen Love & Tommy Crockett and Colin Evans
National Parliamentary Debate Best Speaker - 1st Place: Colin Evans
National Parliamentary Debate Best Speaker - 3rd Place: Lundyn Davis
Informative Speaker - 5th Place: Kristen Love
Extemporaneous Speaking - 1st Place: Michael Franklin
Extemporaneous Speaking - 3rd Place: Kristen Love
Interviewing - 3rd Place: Angelina Peters (84 students entered this category)
Interviewing - 6th Place: Lundyn Davis (84 students entered this category)
Sweepstakes Award - Kristen Love (This award means she was the Top Performer and the Finalist in most of the events entered on behalf of Howard University!)