Wednesday, November 27, 2013

School of Communications happenings

The academic renewal spirit continues in the School of C!
Over the next several months, students will experience upgrades in the technology available throughout the School.  A new lab fee is being used for technology enhancements such as software for ePortfolios, new computers, software upgrades, white boards and projectors for classrooms, and a new monitor screen in the entryway to the CB Powell Building. These improvements support the School’s renewal and reorganization laying a foundation for the future success of our students.

Several of our PRSSA students enjoyed a recent visit to the Pentagon. They were hosted by Caroline D. Wilson, Deputy, Community Outreach, Navy Office of Information.
Annenberg Honor students and alumni make great strides. Jordan D. Stewart, class of 2014, television production major was accepted to present his thesis at the Hawaii International Conference on Arts & Humanities in Honolulu, Hawaii from January 10-13, 2014. His thesis, "Uniting the Divided: Film as an Intervention for Rebuilding Family Relationships" analyzes the 2004 film "Spanglish" and its themes, symbols, and motifs as it relates to rebuilding family relationships. Eddie Holiday, class of 2010, legal communications major.  He graduated in 2013 from Howard University School of Law and recently passed the bar in Florida.  He is currently Assistant State Attorney in Miami, Florida.
Vanessa Rozier, class of 2009, print journalism. She is a public diplomacy officer in the U.S. Foreign Service

Congratulations to alumna Ju-Don Marshall Roberts. She was recently appointed director
Photo courtesy of Montclair State website
of the
Center for Cooperative Media, an initiative of the School of Communication and Media, at Montclair State University. Roberts has served as general manager and senior vice president of, senior vice president and executive editor of, and spent 17 years at the Washington Post and .



Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Associate Professor Silvia Martinez of the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorder was named a Fellow at the American Speech-Language and Hearing Association (ASHA) convention in Chicago. The Fellow recognition is the second highest honor in the national organization.

Jamison Harris, graduating senior and President of Howard University’s nationally ranked Mock Trial won the Top Ranking Attorney Award at the Tobacco Row Competition hosted by Duke University.  The team competed against 24 schools, which included Harvard, Georgetown, Columbia, Penn State and University of Maryland.

The School of C team, the ENF Rangers, made it to the Top 4 Finals of the Ford HBCU Challenge Grant!  The students will travel to Detroit in early December to present their proposal before a panel.  Associate Professor Paula Matabane, faculty advisor for the team, says at a minimum the team could receive $10,000 in  scholarships, but expect to win -- $50,000 in scholarships and $25,000 in equipment (cameras, iPads, etc.) dedicated to the project.  The project can be reproduced every semester through a class or field experience. The team’s proposal is for a service learning project where five of our students (MFA graduate and undergraduate students) will develop a teaching curriculum to train 6th graders to make short videos on some environmental community issue.  A parent-student-community forum at each school would facilitate the community moving on solving the issues identified by the kids!  The goal is to get the films cablecast, on YouTube, etc.  We are proud of the ENF Rangers and Dr. Matabane.

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

School of C New Annual Fundraising Campaign, Awards and Publications
The Howard School of Communications has launched a new Annual Fundraising Campaign: $150 for the 150th HU Anniversary yearly gift until 2017. We are seeking support from alumni and friends of $150.00 yearly to the school’s annual fund. The gift is restricted to the School of Communications for use with student scholarships, study abroad and programs. The campaign kicked off at the 2013 Homecoming reception. Join us in spreading the word and supporting the School of C!  Your gift can be sent by check payable to Howard University SOC, Office of the Dean, School of Communications, 525 Bryant Street NW, Washington, DC 20059, or online at:

Social Media is the focus of the new book: Social Media: Pedagogy and Practice edited by Kehbuma Langmia, Tia Tyree, Pamela O'Brien and Ingrid Sturgis. Three of the four editors—Langmia, Tyree and Sturgis—are faculty from the School of Communications
The book is a result of work from the Social Media Technology Conference and Workshop held annually at either Howard University or Bowie State University. Here’s the link for book:

The School of Communications was the recent recipient of the Dorothy E. Brunson 2013 Scholarship Award from the PRT Reach Foundation and The Presidents’ Roundtable, Inc. of Baltimore, MD. The award will go to a student recipient from SOC’s Communication Research and Resource Center (CERRC).

Stephanie Holloman
Congratulations to School of C’s Stephanie Holloman. The junior, Public Relations major, won the Ofield Dukes Memorial Scholarship from the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Foundation at the PRSSA National conference in October.